Qatar- Former minister to chair CCQ Board of Trustees

Qatar- Former minister to chair CCQ Board of Trustees

Publication: – English (English | Website)

The Council of Ministers Office Decision No. 14 of 2020 on restructuring the board to include three new members has approved Dr. Hessa bint Sultan Al Jaber to chair the Board of Trustees of the Community College of Qatar (CCQ).

Dr. Hessa is a pioneer in the country’s development process, and she had held several important positions. She is a member of the Shura Council and the third Qatari woman to assume a ministerial position.

In 2013, she was listed among the 500 most powerful Arabs in the world in Arabian Business magazine. Then, she ranked 20th on the 2013 Arabian Business’ list of 100 most powerful Arab women in April.

Moreover, Dr. Hessa holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from George Washington University, Washington, DC.

Dr. Nasser Mohammed Marafih and Dr. Khalid Abdulla Al-Ali were also awarded the honour of membership on the board. Dr. Marafih has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Ooredoo Group since 2006. He also served as Ooredoo Qatar CEO from 2002 until 2011. Dr. Marafih holds a Ph.D. in Communication Engineering from George Washington University, USA.

Meanwhile, Dr. Khalid is the Director of Higher Education Institutional Affairs and the Acting Undersecretary for Higher Education in the Ministry of Education and Higher Education in Qatar. He has served previously in several educational posts, such as Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs, Director of Foundation Program at Qatar University, and the World Commission’s Chair on the Ethics of Science Knowledge and Technology (COMEST) in UNESCO. Other board members include Vice-Chair, Dr. Ibrahim Mohamed Al Kaabi, and Dr. Rashid Sultan Al-Kuwari, Soud Abdulaziz Al Tamimi, and Dr. Abdulla Ibrahim Al Emadi as members.
CCQ President Dr Mohamed Al Naemi

CCQ President, Dr. Mohamed Al Naemi, said, ‘We are pleased to welcome the new members in the College’s board of trustees. As part of our commitment to contribute to Qatar National Vision 2030, we look forward to working together to enhance the College’s performance and offer the best possible educational services to our students. We also extend our thanks to the previous chairman, Engineer Hamad Rashid Al Mohannadi, and the previous members Dr. Khalid Mohamed Al Horr and Hassan Abdulrahman Al Ibrahim for all their efforts and achievements that strengthened the position of the College and supported its educational process.

Share this post